NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

New C5 Bumper from 2F Industries/Performance

GuyverVette

Ok, Desertdawg asked me to post some info about my first custom project on a C5 Corvette.

First of all let me tell you guys a lil bit more about me.

I graduated from the Industrial Design school 4 years ago. I specialized in Car Design and my School Thesis was about custom interior and renovation/restoration of classic cars, the project was applied on a 1978 Camaro.

Once I was done with school I moved to Arizona and I worked for Greulich's auto body for a year, were I learned how to do some body work, not that I mastered the art at all but at least I know what it takes to get a job done.

Finally I got my actual job and this construction company, where pretty much I just draft in AutoCAD...

When I got my C5 a year ago I was so excited and I wanted to customize every inch of it, but I found there's not a lot of aftermarket body parts to choose from. Pretty much the only bumper available was the Tiger Shark (which I personally thinks is very ugly, but at least more functional than the stock C5 bumper and at the same time cleaner) and it was also very expensive ($800 - $900???)... So I decided I was going to make my own custom bumper for my car.

After drawing all kinds of weird styles and designs that came to my mind I found out that there's actually an existing design that was very clean and even better was already a GM design. So pretty much I inspired in the original idea from when I had my 1982 C3 of removing the frontal license plate holder to give it a cleaner look, which I found surprisingly similar to the actual look of the C6... So I decided to try a bumper with the clean characteristics of the C6 that would fit on the C5.