NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Is this cam too mild? opinions please

Guest 1FASTC4

Guest 1FASTC4

Hydraulic Here's the numbers: Basic operating range: 1600 to 5800 Intake duration at 050 inch lift Exhaust duration at 050 inch lift Advert intake duration: 268 Advertised Exhaust duration: 280 Intake valve lift : .477 Exhaust Valve lift .480 lobe separation: 110 degrees At WOT the acceleration seems to go flat at about 5400 RPM. I'm no cam expert, far from it but I'd like to have hard acceleration to 6000 at least. The motor is built to rev that high. Is this cam too tame? I'm looking around for opinions. This car is not a DD; it's meant to be driven hard then parked. Thanks for your input. Steve

Bromley's Corvettes

What do you have for springs and rockers. If you change to stronger springs it will rev higher. If you have 1.5 rockers and change to 1.6 it will make the cam think its bigger and rev higher. I would do both 1.6 rockers and new stronger springs. Valve springs make H.P more then people think. They make the motor rev faster not just higher. The faster the motor revs up the faster the car goes lol. With the cam you have you will be able to find some good dual springs that will have lots of presser with out having to mod the heads. You dont want a ton of spring presser because it will wear out the cam real fast if its not a roller. Thats why rollers can run so much spring presser and make more power they are hard coated so they can handle tons of spring presser.

Guest 1FASTC4