NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

What Would It Take.....

ChadC

yes she was a big block.

but can a LS1 engine sound like that ( or like the Mustang in Steve's video)?

..serious question. Is it possible?

I agree in part with Phil. A cam and aftermarket exhaust will make an LS1 sound great but I don't think you'll ever make a LS1 sound like a big block.

Guest Steve Mulvey

My Mustang is a 302... I had a single chamber flowmaster and 3 inch pipe on a 1LE LT1 Camaro and it sounded like a TransAm 310 when you wound it up. I am an expert on irritating the neighbours and race mufflers are the hot ticket :thumbs . You work nearby my house (at least you have an office near here) Give me a call and I will bring the Mustang over so you can hear it firsthand, the video makes the fuel pump sound like a dentist's drill... it isn't quite as loud as that.. 602-228-3911

steve

Guest UVETTYA
I agree in part with Phil. A cam and aftermarket exhaust will make an LS1 sound great but I don't think you'll ever make a LS1 sound like a big block.

:withstupid You won't make anything sound like a big block - there's just no way to fake a long stroke and big pistons. ;)

:withstupid You won't make anything sound like a big block - there's just no way to fake a long stroke and big pistons. ;)

what about a ls1 that is 402 CI?

or a ls7 427ci?

can it be done?

Guest UVETTYA

or a ls7 427ci?

can it be done?

I don't think so but that's just my opinion. I'm not an authority. :huh

The LS7 is a small block 427. The 402 is a small block engine too and I just don't think you're going to get that sound from a small block no matter what you do to the exhaust. You might get close but I think you would still be able to tell the difference. Maybe one of the tuners will check in - they might know.

or a ls7 427ci?

can it be done?

I don't think so but that's just my opinion. I'm not an authority. :huh