NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Is a catch can necessary?

Jon

Yes, especially if you run it hard or are FI, just pull off your throttle body and look at the oil in the intake manifold. I went with the Lingfelter one, its larger and easier to inspect.

I have one installed in my Z06 and after 2000 miles i had one tablespoon full in it.

Dang. What brand is yours?

I have no personal experience, but my engine builder told me taht for race applications, absolutely. But that they don't bother with them on street cars.

From their site, the downsides of stock: •Throttle body and/or MAFS (Mass Air Flow Sensor) malfunction or failure •Air filter, intercooler (if equipped) and intake ducting contamination if oil pools and run back out the intake system after engine shutdown •Reduced octane of the air/fuel mixture, which can cause detonation and the ECM (Engine Control Module) to retard timing, thereby reducing engine power •Excessive carbon build-up on valves, piston crowns, combustion chambers and spark plugs. This also increases the chance of detonation and power loss •Increased emissions & possible contamination of catalytic converters and oxygen sensors For what its worth, I agree with all of them Like mentioned before, if you don't beat on your car, it may not be woth it. Simple check, take off your air filter and throttle body, if the intake manifold is dry and no puddles of oil, then dont bother purchasing.

On a C5...absolutely. My car used to blow smoke and very hard driving (AutoX to be exact). But since putting in a catch can...nada.

We have the Elite Eng. Even though the car is a street only car and very rarely driven, it has captured a lot and I mean a LOT of the oil. It'll collect about half a cup between oil changes. It's very well built and bullet proof.

I guess it's an extra $9.50 for the LS3 version. They gave me a free t-shirt for the confusion. Great customer service. :)