NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Horsepower Loss?

Guest Mikey

Guest Mikey

It's true...East of the Missippi, the gasoline has 93 Octane instead of the 91 Octane that we have out West. We discovered this fact to be true while driving round trip to Bowling Green two weeks ago.

So...How many horsepower does my 400hp LS2 engine loose by using our 91 octane? :unsure

I realize that we can use any octane rating we want and the computer will retard/advance the spark accordingly, however, doesn't that process involve a loss of ponies? I didn't notice any difference in the "Giddy-up Factor", so I assume the difference to be fairly small. :burnout

BTW...We paid $3.02 a gallon for the 93 octane!! :confused

My guess would be you wouldn't loose enough to notice unless it was put on a dyno. Maybe 0-5 HP

BTW, I'm not a scientist but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night :lol:lol

Guest Kens06

It's all in the tune!!

The factory tune is so fat [rich] that you won't have any problems with knocking which pulls timing!!

Now when you start modding, you have to get the fuel and timing tables adjusted, i.e. a tune!!

Ken

Only time I put 93 octane in my C5 was when the wife and I drove to see the BIL in Texas. I did notice a seat of the pants difference, but he lower altitude probably had a bunch to do it with it as well. 93 octane at near sea level altitude felt like a good 20-30 hp difference, it was quite noticeable! Even the wife commented on how much faster the car felt.

Also been to Lompoc CA (only 91 octane) which is at sea level as well. Didn't feel as quick as it did in TX with the 93 octane. I'd say the temps and humidity were about the same in TX and CA, probably slightly higher humidity in CA.

What sad is were paying the same for 91 octane as those guys are paying for 93 octane. Could of really used the 93 octane with my S/C Toyota.

Guest Kens06

I thought we have already been through this...............