Acceptable Oil Temps?

Mister M

I am new to the vette scene, I just picked up my 2003 Millenium Yellow Z06 this weekend. On my drive home from picking up the car, my oil temp averaged 228. Now when Im cruising around Phoenix, I've seen the temp get as high as 235. To me this seems pretty high but I wanted to know from other owners what temps I should expect to see in the summer weather.

Thanks,

Mike

Hi Mike...I don't know about the temp ranges that are ok for a C5, but if that was a C3 car..."Shut her down fast or get it cooled off quick"! :ack That would be much too high for a C3. I'm sure one of the C5 guys here can help you out with the info you need. Good luck and watch that temp gauge.

I am new to the vette scene, I just picked up my 2003 Millenium Yellow Z06 this weekend.  On my drive home from picking up the car, my oil temp averaged 228.  Now when Im cruising around Phoenix, I've seen the temp get as high as 235.  To me this seems pretty high but I wanted to know from other owners what temps I should expect to see in the summer weather.

Researched this a little on CF and those temps seem to be normal. I've seen mine also in that neighborhood. :thumbs

Guest XLR8TNC5
I am new to the vette scene, I just picked up my 2003 Millenium Yellow Z06 this weekend.  On my drive home from picking up the car, my oil temp averaged 228.  Now when Im cruising around Phoenix, I've seen the temp get as high as 235.  To me this seems pretty high but I wanted to know from other owners what temps I should expect to see in the summer weather.

Researched this a little on CF and those temps seem to be normal. I've seen mine also in that neighborhood. :thumbs

:withstupid The day of our ACE Photo Shoot at the stadium, my oil temps were right at 235-240....

Tanya

Yup perfectly normal. Hauling ass up Mingus, I'll see 250. Normal cool weather cruising temps are in the 192's. This time of year I see 200-230 on a regular basis. Why you want a good quality oil in there.