NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Free mods list.

Phoenix FRC

Phoenix FRC

So I'm a rookie to the Vette because I just found out that the C5 can be lowered 0.75" to 1.00' for free.

What are the free mods that come to mind?

C5 free mods:

Lowering = free down to 1".

MAF screen removal

What else? If we put our heads together or know of a good reference on CF then maybe some of us can knock out a few free mods. :D

Thanks,

Later!

Stupid question...but MAF screen removal?

What does that get you?

I have heard rumors that the MAF screen is there to prevent rapid fluctuations in the MAF sensor readings...which would not be a good thing.

Phoenix FRC

The guy that tuned my Vette said get it out of there!

It's suposed to be worth 3 or 4 HP....

I removed it on my Pontiac too, the MAF sensor is accurate enough, it doesn't need a screen.

I would have to admitt tha the screen will keep you from swaoolwing anything like a nut or bolt thou- I know a guy that had the alky injection spray nozzle get sucked into the supercharger and the SC schredded it the a chunk of the brass nozzle got stuck inthe exhaust valve, the valve was stuck open.

We tore that car down and rebuilt it and it only had 14k miles on it. :eek

Desertdawg

I know if my fat butt lost 100 pounds my vette would be faster.

But I don't think you can list this as a free mod. because technically I would go faster and have MORE money in my wallet from buying less food... :leaving

... the MAF sensor is accurate enough, it doesn't need a screen.

The more the MAF sensor is accurate, the more pronounced the problem will be.

Turbulence in the intake air stream will cause fluctuations in the sensor.

If you retune to correct the 'issue', you're probably tuning out the sensor's effect.

As for them removing it later on, the only way that comparison would be apples to apples would be if they used the same MAF sensor, on the same intake ducting, with the same ECM.