NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Help a newbie get '82 talking to a computer

Guest Simpson36

Guest Simpson36

I am trying to get my bone stock '82 crossfire Vette to talk to my computer using WinALDL and a cable made per the instructions on their site, but no joy so far.

The software only alows 2400 and 4800 baud settings yet the ECM transmits at 160? Hopfuly I am missing something simple.

I've been searching this out on a couple of sites and forums and so far I'm only confusing myself furthur with reams of info. This seems to be a huge subject and I need some help to narrow down where I should be looking. Can anyone help a newbie here with some advice or links that are specific to an '82 vette?

Maybe that's what the wire in your other post is for. J/K I haven't a clue but thought I would give you a :smilelol , seeya, Robert

Just did a quick look on the site...

Which TBI is yours? They list more than one.

Also, when changing COM settings, you have to restart their program for the settings to take effect.

As for the cable,

which value did you use for R3?

You didn't put the R4 in there, did you?

"With this resistor installed the interface will NOT work with fuel injected vehicles. This resisror should ONLY be used with some carbed vehicles that does not work with the standard interface"

So are you getting no signal at all with the cable?

Your only going to get this answered on the crossfire forum. Sorry I can't help I haven't gotten anywhere near my vette with a puter yet...

Guest Simpson36

Did not use R4 and R3 was 10k.

I did get a reply on the injection vault with some things to try.

I'm going to post back to both forums with my results.

At least now I know that my car CAN talk to WinALDL so my efforts won't be wasted. I'm pretty tenacious and will get it working sooner or later.