hot center console

Batmobile

hello everyone. i'm new to C5 quirks and issues. dealing with the damn "active handling warm up" issues and "security" issues, meanwhile can anyone tell me after driving a little while, why is my side so damn hot in the car? the center console is irradiating a lot of heat! no a/c issues at all. just really hot center console. passenger side seems not as hot as driver side. i looked underneath and the heat shield is there, not missing. 

Nature of the beast. My center console isn't as hot since I removed the cats during header install but it still gets very hot.

There are vendors that sell tunnel insulation above and below console if your interested, just look on the big forum.

Makes me wonder when I leave my 2A in the console......:smilelol

Yep, nature of the beast.  If you want to help it considerably, pull out your seats and carpet and insulate.  There is a product called Dyna Mat which is really good but pretty expensive.  I've known plenty that have gone to Home Depot and purchased the silver FrostKing rolled insulation and had excellent results.  This will also help deaden road noise if you do the rear deck or trunk as well

JLs Mistress

I did the Frost king and it did help ...also went to dual tunnel plates with air space between the plates.. HOXXOH gave me that idea...

• Upvote 1

Shakti Vette

I had the same issue in our GS removed two of the four cats (under floor cats by counsel) and that took care of most of the heat issues. The feet were on fire from those little bastards....>!

image.png.bc4bb858935fefcd3721e31e105c68b1.png

On the C4 the issue is normally the rubber boot ontop of the transmission tunnel underneath the console is compromised (Ripped/Torn). It amazing hot much heat the rubber boot keeps out of the console area. Another thing to look into  

• 3 weeks later...