1974 rough idle

RCPILOT

hi Guys, I'm new to to club. Just bought a nice 1974 L48. Having a problem with a very rough idle. Once you get going it runs fine. Last owner just had a major tuneup done and put in new plugs. Any suggestions on what could be the problem? Thanks

Two Fangs

Could be anything from a mis-adjusted carburetor to a burned valve.

If you are mechanically savvy, we can give some places to get started, otherwise there are many shop owners who post on here that could take care of you, I'm certain.

As everyone on this forum knows, I am not mechanically inclined at all. However, years ago I had a 71 that ran rough, especially at idle. Finally had the carb rebuilt and it came to life. Probably not your problem, but you never know. My best advice, take it to Bromley's. He loves C3s.

My first thought is a leaky well-plug on teh Rochester Quad. Any black smoke out of teh pipes?

No smoke, oil pressure is good. My first guess was something in the electrical system, plug wire maybe?

I'll take a dip in the pool

vacuum advance issue..........and call Doug! :lol

plug wire maybe?

Possible.....or maybe firing order. 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2

I've seen ignition modules do this too.

Generally you may find a vacuum leak .... or a simple as a chock adjustment .........

Guest badbobs95

Ls swap it..... Or contact broomleys he knows them the best.

I concur! Call Doug at Broomley's. I mean Bromleys. :laughing gut bustin::laughing gut bustin:

Final Effort

Somebody stuck a 3/4 race cam in it.

If near Chandler, Bromley

If near Peoria, AZmoterhead

both are Ace members.

When at idle, sounds more like a full race cam !! Intake manifold leak? Hope it's something simple or I got stung on this car.

I agree with everyone else - take a quick trip by Bromley's and you'll have EXPERIENCE at your fingertips! And I bet you'll be VERY happy with his service and the interest he takes in advising you on your new baby!!

Keep us posted!!