90 C4 won't idle

90vetter

Hello everyone newbie here and need some help with my Vette. It starts right up every time but stumbles and stalls. Service Engine Soon on, tried to run codes by jumping A and B at the diagnose port, at one attempt I did get a 46 (vats code) but it is crazy 12,12,12 12, 12 then it will flash a bunch real fast meanwhile lights flashing and very erratic. I did plugs,wires new battery,distributor module a couple months ago but now I can give it a little gas to keep it running and the service soon light on and dash stuff flashing and stumbling and it wants to die.Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

sounds like maybe your fuel pump mite be givin up .... would certainly check you fuel pressure just to confirm .... Oh yeah ..... and welcome to our humble abode !!!

I'll have to check the fuel pressure but when accelerating all the way up to wide open throttle it has plenty of fuel and it doesn't miss a beat, only at idle or I gues at cruise it feels like a cylinder or two just drops out. Another thing while going down the road and when the miss feel occurs the speedometer goes from say 45 to 0 in one instant. I looked at the MAP sensor but not sure about it,I guess on the 90 vette they went from a maf to a map ?

If they are original injectors? they were not designed to burn ethanol, fuel pressure also a possibility, do you have a factory service manual?, it will help

Ground problem ????

Did C4's suffer from a crappy ground points like the C5 ?

Try another module...it usually takes 2 before I get a good one in my Z/28 (TPI also)-even teh so-called "premium" brands are not teh same as they were a few years ago.

Bromley's Corvettes