NOTICE TO ALL ACE MEMBERS - Forum Decommissioning ×

Garage Door Spring

Grape Ape

Grape Ape

Anyone out there work on garage doors? I just had a spring break and the cars are stuck in there now. Can I loosen the other spring to get the door to open? I know it will be heavy but will that work? Need a couple new springs asap if anyone can help.

Phill's Vette

Here is a few info links:

Link

Link2

Link3

I would think you could muscle the door open without the springs?? Make sure nothing falls on the cars...

I've never done springs before, but would be willing to help - I'm available this Friday evening after 4ish and most all of Saturday....I am a few miles away from you so let me know and I'll be glad to help.

Grape Ape

Thanks for the links. I was actually reading the first one you posted. I have someone coming over this evening to get it repaired. From what I read it is really hard to get the springs. I would have to order them from a site and wait for the mail. So I called in the repair man. I have adjusted them before but never replaced.

Buccaneer

I've had my double car door spring break and had it replaced and right after that the third car door spring broke...Damnit! I can try and find the info on people we used which were very nice and the price was right around $100 for the big door. Don't try and replace it yourself, those springs are dangerous, lots of tension. When the other spring broke just sitting there it sounded like a 38 cal going off. I don;t have the name of the company, but they were from AJ and here's the number. 480-821-1111

Like Tom I had one break and it sounded like a gun shot. I've always heard don't mess with the springs unless you know exactly what you're doing. I used Shea Garage Door but don't have their number. They're up in the NE part of the Valley though.

Torsion spring on a garage door can break your arm if you don't know what you're doing. Best to leave it to someone with experience.