Rebuild or new?

Guest michaelpcole

Guest michaelpcole

Hello Everyone,

I recently acquired a 1964 convertible that needs some work. It has a 1965 Corvette engine, and a 1965 hood. Otherwise it is mostly stock. Any advice on whether it makes more sense to rebuild the engine even though it is not original or just buy a new one? I'm not sure how much difference it will make on value, but I like the idea of staying with a stock engine from the same era and it certainly has enough power to keep my interst. Any advice on keeping the 65 hood, or buying a replacement 64? I'm fairly new to Corvettes, and a little overwhelmed with all the decisions.

Thanks!

:willy

3,503 lbs of trouble
Hello Everyone,

I recently acquired a 1964 convertible that needs some work. It has a 1965 Corvette engine, and a 1965 hood.

'65 engine in it you say? 327 or 396? What's wrong with the engine that you think it needs to be rebuilt?

Since it's not a numbers matching car, it leaves you a lot of freedom to improve drivability without hurting value if you have a fresh crate engine dropped in.

I think it becomes a question of money, as well as the fact that it will always have a non numbers matching motor. My understanding is that even with the same year motor it still will bring less at sales time. When I get something I get it for ME, not for possible future sale. I buy it and use and fix it like I'll have it forever.JMHO. What color is your car and welcome to the forum. Robert :burnout

Guest michaelpcole